The Good Neighbors Series, by Mother Melania
Illustrated by Cayce Grace Kruse

  • Capers and Harry: High Climbing  ISBN: 978-1-4507-2863-8
  • Mimi the Mynah: It’s All Mine        ISBN: 978-1-4507-2864-5
  • Greedy the Crow: Finders Keepers ISBN: 978-1-4507-2865-2

The Good Neighbors series by Mother Melania consists of short stories with strong moral lessons for young readers. About thirty pages long each, they are perfect to read aloud to toddlers, preschoolers, and kindergartners, and also just right for the young reader to enjoy on his or her own. What makes them a treasure is that every fun little adventure contains valuable life lessons that a young child can understand.

The characters, such as Charity the church mouse and Fearless the fire chief duck, must make decisions with each little adventure they face. The reader will see how a greedy character fairs when his overstuffed home catches on fire, how an unselfish person treats a friend who has a lot to learn about humility, and how kindness, consistently practiced, pays off in the end. Traits such as pride, forgiveness, and generosity are illustrated in a way that helps the child relate to the virtuous characters. The illustrations are simple and colorful, and the situations are not too far off from real life.

Mother Melania’s books are quality stories that are written not just to entertain, but to help teach a child right from wrong, and good behavior from bad. They are an excellent example of story-writing with a noble purpose and a fun treat for little ones!

Learn more about the Good Neighbors Series here.

Copyright 2011 Elyse Wilson