featured image
Catholic Central Catholic Central hosts Kaiser Johnson and Libby Slater. Copyright 2017 Family Theater Productions. Used with permission. All rights reserved.[/caption] Need to Keep Restless Kids Focused and Engaged?  Suddenly a lot of parents find themselves working at home – and homeschooling. Faith education doesn’t have to be left behind. Each quick, witty episode of Catholic Central offers theologically approved information and entertainment on Church history, doctrine and more. CatholicCentral.com also offers links and downloadable resources. Laugh and learn with us!  Catholic Central Copyright 2020 Catholic Central/Family Theater Productions. All rights reserved.[/caption]

 Avoiding the ‘7 Deadly Sins’ With Catholic Central 

Nobody likes to admit to committing sins, but we all do – and some of them are far worse and more damaging than others. If you’ve already stumbled, there’s always Reconciliation/Confession, but Catholic Central has some ideas to help you avoid problems in the first place.   In The 7 Deadly Sins, we look at common troublesome issues that have plagued humanity since the beginning: avarice, envy, pride, sloth, gluttony and lust. Luckily, each of these sins has an antidote, a virtue that, cultivated and nurtured, can offer freedom. What are they? Well, you’ll just have to watch ...  https://youtu.be/8Q_koX2NOZM

Diving Deeper  

  1. Why do you think these are called “deadly sins?” What makes them so harmful?
  1. Let’s recap: The 7 Deadly SinsarePride, Envy, Anger, Sloth, Avarice (Greed), Gluttony and Lust. Which one do you think is the biggest struggle for our culture?
  1. Often people find that they are afflicted by one deadly sin more than the others. Traditionally this is called the “primary sin.” Think about which of the deadly sins is the most challenging for you.


The 7 Deadly Sins are often used to appeal to people in commercials. Next time you watch an ad, try to recognize which of the 7 Deadly Sins are targeted.  

Reflection by Father Vince Kuna, C.S.C. 

Envy is the only sin of the deadly seven that doesn’t have some unintended reward. The committing of wrath is sometimes cathartic. If one is caught up in greed, they likely sit on a pile of money at the end of the day. Gluttony leaves someone full (although too full) after a meal.  Envy, however, begins with being jealous of someone and ends with being jealous of someone. Think of someone more successful than you. Or maybe think of someone who portrays themselves as successful on their social media. Name that person in prayer or write their name in a spiritual journal. Pray in gratitude that person is in your life.  
Copyright 2020 Family Theater Productions